Indie Music Hour with DJ HotJack

A regular journey around the music scene

Alcoholic Faith Mission

421wytheavenue_

I’ve had the pleasure of finally getting around to listening to the album 421 Wythe Avenue, released earlier this year by Alcoholic Faith Mission.

I enjoyed it so much that I thought I’d make a point of highlighting it for others to check out. It’s hard to describe really in terms of what it sounds similar to. I guess it’d be experimental / indie-folk but I’m not huge on classifications. It’s very beautiful though and has the ability to soothe and evoke contemplation.

From their lastfm page:

“…they went back to Brooklyn to seclude themselves in an old factory loft at 421 Wythe Avenue. They tried on a selection of straightjackets for the inspiration. Everything used to make the music, had to be found within the loft’s four walls. For an example, dictionaries beat each other to become an electronically muted bass drum. This way of working turned into their second album; named after the street where they lived…”

Let me know what you think if you check it out 🙂

I’ve linked to some of the tracks below.

August 6, 2009 - Posted by | Album Reviews, indie music, Music Vidz, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. […] feeds and more Band Metrics provides comprehensive quantitative and qualitative analytics for Alcoholic Faith Mission – hotjack.wordpress.com 08/06/2009 I’ve had the pleasure of finally getting around to […]

    Pingback by Posts about music as of August 5, 2009 » BLOGVIDEOS | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. thanks for the flag-up – will check it out ….

    Comment by Teleskopik Recordings | August 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment