Indie Music Hour with DJ HotJack

A regular journey around the music scene

2009 Mercury Music Prize nominees

Mercury Music

220px-Mercury-prize-logo-site

The 2009 nominees were announced a couple of days ago so I know I’m hardly providing cutting-edge news here. However, I wanted to step back a little from the knee-jerk reactions these nominations always generate. Partly to ponder my own reaction and partly to watch others foam at the mouth.

I’ve observed a lot of doom and gloom attached to the list. The weakest list ever, according to some. An indication of the poor state of music today, according to others.

Personally, I think it is no weaker than some previous years and, although arguments could be made for a few that didn’t get shortlisted, it’s not exactly a bizarre line-up to represent this year’s album releases.

Early bookmaker odds suggest Kasabian and Florence & The Machine are front runners with Bat For Lashes, Glasvegas and La Roux not far behind. Other nominees are:

Friendly Fires
Led Bib
Lisa Hannigan
Speech Debelle
Sweet Billy Pilgrim
The Horrors
The Invisible

I was pleased that Seldom Seen Kid secured the win for Elbow last year. I remember being very smitten with the album when it was first released and I felt they ‘deserved’ critical acclaim for the impact they had on the UK, and particularly the Manchester, music scene over the years. This year I reckon Kasabian and Bat For Lashes would be getting my money if I was a gambling man.

A glance through previous winners shows that this is rarely an award that has predictable winners. After all, Gomez beat Pulp and The Verve in 1998 and M People snatched it from The Prodigy and Blur in 1994.

The prize money attached to the award is £20,000 – may the most deserving artist(s) win.

July 24, 2009 - Posted by | indie music | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

