Indie Music Hour with DJ HotJack

A regular journey around the music scene

Music Sources – Indie Rock Playlists

indierockplaylist

When I have DJ’d in the past, the search for fresh bands/tracks has always felt like a full-time job. Lastfm and other similar resources help a lot but I used to remember thinking “wouldn’t it be great if somehow I could be presented with a whole bunch of songs by different artists for me to pick out the good stuff?”. You see, a 2 hour setlist can involve having to find 40+ tracks by different artists and audiences don’t want to hear the same stuff churned out week after week.

Anyway, enough about my ‘poor DJ’ stories. Last year I discovered that what I had been wishing for had actually come true. I found out about the Indie Rock Playlist. It was a magnificent research tool and it alerted me to many, many great bands that I might not have otherwise found out about.

Unfortunately the original collator of the Indie Rock Playlist had to stop for some reason but the torch has now been heroically picked up by Blalock and he puts together a wonderful selection of around 100 tracks each month. Some bands you will recognise and some you will not. It really is paradise for those of us with insatiable desires to keep finding new material.

Head over to http://www.myspace.com/blalocksindierockplaylist and you will find download links for the past 5 episodes – that is over 500 tracks at your fingertips – Enjoy!

Jack

July 20, 2009 - Posted by | indie music | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I have three bands to suggest for review:
    Awaking State
    agent jane
    MODENA

    All bands are on MySpace and ReverbNation.
    Thank you for your time!

    Comment by Dena | July 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Dena – thanks a bunch for your suggestions … I’ll check them out! 🙂

      Comment by hotjack | July 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

