Indie Music Hour with DJ HotJack

A regular journey around the music scene

Album Review – Manners by Passion Pit

Manners by Passion Pit

passionpit_

Passion Pit’s previous EP, the precursor to this debut studio album, was called Chunk of Change and was simply fantastic. Tracks such as Sleepyhead and Better Things blew me away and, considering it had all been done on a laptop without any real instrumentation, it was a great piece of work.

So, I approached listening to this album with a little trepidation. I knew the guys had gone into the studio and introduced real instruments. Would it still work? I think it does, although it also seems to lose something. Judging by other reviews I might be alone in that view though. I can handle it 😉

Sleepyhead also appears on this album and is still my favourite track. Other notable tracks are Make Light, The Reeling and Seaweed Song.

Overall, I still like what I hear. I just miss the excessive falsetto parts and the bedroom production feel. 7/10

July 18, 2009 - Posted by | Album Reviews | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

