Indie Music Hour with DJ HotJack

A regular journey around the music scene

Album Review – Battle for the Sun by Placebo

Battle for the Sun by Placebo

battle_for_the_sun_

I almost didn’t review this album. I should begin by declaring my interest. No, I’m not Brian Molko – I’m just a huge fan and Placebo are probably damn close to being my favourite band. That said, I really haven’t enjoyed their previous two albums all that much. I have definitely preferred their earlier stuff.

So, all that disclosure brings us to Battle for the Sun. I have to say, I actually really like this album. A lot. I feel it takes them back to Without You I’m Nothing days in terms of accessibility and quality. I’d go as far as saying that this album will probably rank pretty highly amongst their back catalogue when the guys have hung up their instruments and removed the eyeliner. The tracks feel ‘classic’ or ‘old-school’ but that doesn’t do justice to the complex layering of instrumentation that accompanies Molko’s vocals. The more you listen to the album, the more you pick out as being actually rather quirky. See what you can spot 🙂

Alright, call me a Placebo Fan Boy if you like but I simply can’t give this anything other than very high praise indeed. I honestly believe all tracks stand up fine on the album but I have to give special mention to a few so I’d draw attention to Kitty Litter, Devil In The Details and Speak In Tongues.

Superb album – 9/10.

July 18, 2009 - Posted by | Album Reviews | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

