Indie Music Hour with DJ HotJack

A regular journey around the music scene

Album Review – West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum by Kasabian

Howdy,

I thought I’d provide some brief reviews of the albums I’ve most recently listened to. Nothing fancy, just a quick summary of my impressions after 1 or 2 listens. Please feel free to leave comments on the albums mentioned or recommend any recent releases that I should check out πŸ™‚

West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum by Kasabian

Kasabian,jpg

Kasabian’s previous album was heavily criticized amongst the music press. I have to say, I actually liked most of the material but I can understand the accusations that it was a little one-dimensional and didn’t demonstrate an exciting band evolving. Well, those critics certainly cannot level the same charges at Kasabian now. West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum is the album that the band have asked to be judged upon and I can see why. It is a complex album that takes the listener on a journey through a variety of musical styles and it won’t automatically appeal to those who were enraptured by previous offerings. In fact, I’d happily recommend you check this album out if you aren’t really aware of the band or you weren’t thrilled by their previous offerings. Granted, Tom Meighan has a vocal delivery style that not everyone warms to and, in all likelihood, this album won’t convince the haters. Personally, I like his singing style but I accept it isn’t for everyone.

The band had said the album was going to be psychedelic and we had heard this before from a certain pair of Gallagher brothers. However, I’d place this album miles ahead of Oasis’s Dig Out Your Soul in terms of a contemporary exploration of psychedelia. This album might not grab you on first listen but I’d suggest giving it time. It’s certainly a clever collection and the tracks I’m most fond of so far are Underdog, Thick as Thieves, and Where Did All The Love Go? 8.5/10 from me.

July 17, 2009 - Posted by | Album Reviews | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Very good idea those album reviews! (and an excellent selection so far).

    This one here I like – but not more πŸ™‚

    A suggestion for future reviews: Slow Club – Yeah So (check out the video to “It Doesn’t Have To Be Beautiful, Unless Its Beautiful”)

    Comment by juliaL49 | July 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hey Julia πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the feedback and also the Slow Club suggestion. I have Let’s Fall Back In Love already and quite like it so I’ll certainly check out their latest offering.

    Comment by hotjack | July 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

