Indie Music Hour with DJ HotJack

A regular journey around the music scene

Album Review – Veckatimest by Grizzly Bear

Veckatimest by Grizzly Bear

grizzly_

The ‘indie-folk’ explosion has brought us some very welcome players. As a fan of Fleet Foxes, Bon Iver and Deerhunter, I had heard of Grizzly Bear and probably even heard a couple of tracks but had no real recollection, other than thinking that Ed Droste had a gentle but authoritative delivery style. Eventually I decided to take the plunge and give their latest album a listen in full. Although I’d be less than honest if I said I was blown away, I found the album to be demanding of my attention. Most tracks were likable and the album as a whole had a feeling of depth and intimacy. It’s definitely one I’ll go back and give more of my time to. So far my favourite tracks would be Two Weeks and While You Wait For The Others. Overall, 7/10 from me.

July 17, 2009 - Posted by | Album Reviews | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. If any of you like psychedelic rock n roll with good song writing check out our album I Want To Talk To God. You can download it for free at http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?zadnl2tyod1 this is not your typical modern rock music. This will make you feel. Give it a quick listen at http://www.myspace.com/stealtheprize
    Love you all.
    Ben

    Comment by Jonathan McMillan | July 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. what I found interesting was their description of the different houses they recorded in – one a grand rambly mansion in upstate New York, the other a tiny apartment in Cambridge – each, they said, affecting their sound…can you detect a difference in the tracks?

    Comment by Siri | July 25, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

