Indie Music Hour with DJ HotJack

A regular journey around the music scene

Album Review – Horehound by The Dead Weather

Horehound by The Dead Weather

dead_weather_

There is such a great choice and variety of music around these days, and everything is so instant and accessible, that I rarely have an overwhelming sense of anticipation for an upcoming release. However, being a huge admirer of White Stripes and The Kills, the thought of Jack White and Alison Mosshart working together really excited me. Throw in Queens of The Stone Age’s Dean Fertita and Jack Lawrence from The Raconteurs and you have a tantalising mix. Yet another Jack White supergroup? Yeah – but this is more of a vehicle for Mosshart’s vocals with Mr White wielding the guitar mostly.

The anticipation grew a lot when Hang You From The Heavens was leaked. I instantly loved it. With hindsight I, rather naively, thought The Dead Weather would become a fusion of all that is best about White Stripes and The Kills and Hang You From The Heavens did nothing to change my view on that.

So, the album was released and I settled back and let it pour over me without interruption. “Meh”, I thought. So I listened over again. And, though it pains me to say it, I still can’t say that further listens have made a whole lot of difference. Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a bad album, not in the slightest. Where it falls down with me is more likely to be as a result of being so attached to the previous bands mentioned and having hyped up the imminent release in my mind. There are some good tracks. In addition to Hang You From The Heavens I have warmed to Treat Me Like Your Mother (Mosshart could easily perform this with her other creative outlet), New Pony and Bone House.

Overall though, I think I’d still rather listen to one of my White Stripes albums or have a marathon Kills session. 6.5/10 from me.

July 17, 2009 - Posted by | Album Reviews | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

