Indie Music Hour with DJ HotJack

A regular journey around the music scene

Episode 13 – Class of 2009

indiechick

Welcome to Episode 13 of Indie Music Hour. In this episode, I play a lot of tracks that are taken from 2009 albums that have caught my attention and also sprinkle in some older tunes.

Full Tracklisting

The Gutter Twins – Idle Hands

The Subways – No Goodbyes

The Hold Steady – Your Little Hoodrat Friend

Polly Scattergood – I Am Strong

Mia Vigar – Lost Cause

Billy Bragg – A New England

The Hot Puppies – The Girl Who Was Too Beautiful

The Apples in Stereo – The Oasis

The Kills – Fried My Little Brains

The Dead Weather – Hang You From The Heavens

Envelopes – Party

Obits – Fake Kinkade

Franz Ferdinand – Bite Hard

Bombay Bicycle Club – Pedestal

Infadels – Free Things For Poor People

Eels – Mr E’s Beautiful Blues

Peter Bjorn and John – Lay It Down

Emmy The Great – First Love

The Maccabees – Can You Give It

Loney Dear – I Was Only Going Out

The Elected – Beautiful Rainbow

May 16, 2009 - Posted by | Podcasts | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. And here we go πŸ™‚ I could comment on every song of your exquisite collection but I’ll just pick a few.

    The Gutter Twins are too noisy for me, but The Hold Steady made one of my favourite records of 2008. Esp like the singer’s voice.
    Billy Bragg is always a good choice πŸ™‚
    I recently discovered Emmy the Great and the Maccabees but unfortunately their respective new albums are not available on emusic. But maybe that is a country restriction.

    Comment by julial49 | May 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the feedback, as ever πŸ™‚ I agree about the Hold Steady vocals, always grab my attention. I see what you are saying about Gutter Twins – I guess I was in a bit of a grungy mood when I chose that track πŸ˜‰

    Glad you enjoyed it overall and thanks again for linking to me!

    Comment by hotjack | May 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Stumbled across the blog which looks pretty terrific. Problem I have is that I have searched all over the site, and still can’t find a link to actually play the podcast.
      Do I need a particular player ?
      Also I tried to subscribe to the podcast, to no avail.
      Can you help me please
      Jack(Australia, Scottish antecedents)

      Comment by Jackson | July 10, 2009 | Reply

      • Hi Jack – welcome πŸ™‚

        You need to access the feed and can do this in a couple of ways:

        1. Go to http://dj_hotjack.podomatic.com/ and you’ll find you can listen via that site.

        or..

        2. Subscribe via i-tunes and download the podcasts to your computer. To do this, paste this link into your browser.. itpc://dj_hotjack.podOmatic.com/rss2.xml

        Hope this helps!

        Comment by hotjack | July 11, 2009

  3. Ah yes, my blog post about my favourite music podcasts πŸ™‚

    This episode had a wonderful tip too, of course: Infadels. Both albums are available at emusic and I’m downloading the first right this moment. The other has to wait until my downloads refresh…

    Comment by julial49 | May 17, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the tip. My pod aggregator is Juice, which seems to have an issue with this podcast. But I have bitten the bullet and tentatively gone across to the darkside (that is, i-tunes).
    Great alt music btw…keep up the good work.

    Comment by Jackson | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  5. AHH! I love this podcast. One of my faves dare I say? I’d never heard of the Infadels, until I heard them here; I can honeslty say they are my favorite band up to date. Great stuff! Keep up the good work! πŸ˜€

    Comment by Gabrielle | July 14, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Gabrielle – welcome πŸ™‚ Really glad you enjoyed the podcast and I agree about Infadels, great band!

      Comment by hotjack | July 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

